Saturday, August 18, 1956 - vs. Aldershot (Home) Tuesday, August 21, 1956 - vs. Brentford (Away) Saturday, August 25, 1956 - vs. Watford (Away) Wednesday, August 29, 1956 - vs. Brentford (Home) Saturday, September 1, 1956 - vs. Shrewsbury Town (Home) Wednesday, September 5, 1956 - vs. Gillingham (Away) Saturday, September 8, 1956 - vs. Walsall (Away) Wednesday, September 12, 1956 - vs. Gillingham (Home) Saturday, September 15, 1956 - vs. Ipswich Town (Home) Wednesday, September 19, 1956 - vs. Queens Park Rangers (Home) Saturday, September 22, 1956 - vs. Bournemouth and Boscombe Athletic (Away) Monday, September 24, 1956 - vs. Queens Park Rangers (Away) Saturday, September 29, 1956 - vs. Torquay United (Home) Saturday, October 6, 1956 - vs. Southend United (Home) Saturday, October 13, 1956 - vs. Crystal Palace (Away) Saturday, October 20, 1956 - vs. Exeter City (Home) Saturday, October 27, 1956 - vs. Southampton (Away) Saturday, November 3, 1956 - vs. Coventry City (Home) Saturday, November 10, 1956 - vs. Norwich City (Away) Saturday, November 17, 1956 - vs. Coventry City (Home) Saturday, November 24, 1956 - vs. Newport County (Away) Saturday, December 1, 1956 - vs. Reading (Home) Saturday, December 8, 1956 - vs. Bournemouth and Boscombe Athletic (Home) Saturday, December 15, 1956 - vs. Aldershot (Away) Saturday, December 22, 1956 - vs. Watford (Home) Wednesday, December 26, 1956 - vs. Millwall (Away) Saturday, December 29, 1956 - vs. Shrewsbury Town (Away) Saturday, January 5, 1957 - vs. Brighton and Hove Albion (Away) Saturday, January 12, 1957 - vs. Walsall (Home) Saturday, January 19, 1957 - vs. Ipswich Town (Away) Saturday, January 26, 1957 - vs. Brighton and Hove Albion (Home) Saturday, February 2, 1957 - vs. Bournemouth and Boscombe Athletic (Home) Saturday, February 9, 1957 - vs. Torquay United (Away) Saturday, February 16, 1957 - vs. Southend United (Away) Saturday, February 23, 1957 - vs. Crystal Palace (Home) Saturday, March 2, 1957 - vs. Exeter City (Away) Saturday, March 9, 1957 - vs. Plymouth Argyle (Home) Saturday, March 16, 1957 - vs. Coventry City (Away) Saturday, March 23, 1957 - vs. Norwich City (Home) Saturday, March 30, 1957 - vs. Colchester United (Away) Saturday, April 6, 1957 - vs. Newport County (Home) Wednesday, April 10, 1957 - vs. Millwall (Home) Saturday, April 13, 1957 - vs. Reading (Away) Saturday, April 20, 1957 - vs. Southampton (Home) Monday, April 22, 1957 - vs. Northampton Town (Home) Tuesday, April 23, 1957 - vs. Northampton Town (Away) Saturday, April 27, 1957 - vs. Colchester United (Home) Monday, April 29, 1957 - vs. Plymouth Argyle (Away)