Saturday, August 17, 1996 - vs. Norwich City (Away) Tuesday, August 20, 1996 - vs. Wolverhampton Wanderers (Home) Saturday, August 24, 1996 - vs. Port Vale (Home) Wednesday, August 28, 1996 - vs. Oldham Athletic (Home) Saturday, August 31, 1996 - vs. Southend United (Away) Wednesday, September 4, 1996 - vs. Wolverhampton Wanderers (Away) Saturday, September 7, 1996 - vs. Grimsby Town (Away) Wednesday, September 11, 1996 - vs. Portsmouth (Home) Saturday, September 14, 1996 - vs. Tranmere Rovers (Home) Wednesday, September 18, 1996 - vs. Queens Park Rangers (Home) Saturday, September 21, 1996 - vs. Queens Park Rangers (Away) Wednesday, September 25, 1996 - vs. Queens Park Rangers (Away) Friday, September 27, 1996 - vs. Wolverhampton Wanderers (Home) Wednesday, October 2, 1996 - vs. Bradford City (Away) Saturday, October 12, 1996 - vs. Oxford United (Home) Wednesday, October 16, 1996 - vs. Huddersfield Town (Home) Saturday, October 19, 1996 - vs. Crystal Palace (Away) Wednesday, October 23, 1996 - vs. Manchester United (Away) Saturday, October 26, 1996 - vs. Reading (Away) Wednesday, October 30, 1996 - vs. West Bromwich Albion (Home) Saturday, November 2, 1996 - vs. Manchester City (Home) Saturday, November 16, 1996 - vs. Barnsley (Home) Tuesday, November 19, 1996 - vs. Ipswich Town (Away) Saturday, November 23, 1996 - vs. Birmingham City (Away) Tuesday, November 26, 1996 - vs. Sheffield United (Away) Saturday, November 30, 1996 - vs. Reading (Home) Saturday, December 7, 1996 - vs. Charlton Athletic (Away) Saturday, December 14, 1996 - vs. Stoke City (Away) Sunday, December 22, 1996 - vs. Bolton Wanderers (Home) Thursday, December 26, 1996 - vs. Portsmouth (Away) Sunday, January 5, 1997 - vs. Everton (Away) Friday, January 10, 1997 - vs. Tranmere Rovers (Away) Saturday, January 18, 1997 - vs. Bradford City (Home) Saturday, January 25, 1997 - vs. Grimsby Town (Home) Wednesday, January 29, 1997 - vs. Wolverhampton Wanderers (Away) Saturday, February 1, 1997 - vs. Sheffield United (Home) Wednesday, February 5, 1997 - vs. Queens Park Rangers (Home) Saturday, February 8, 1997 - vs. West Bromwich Albion (Away) Saturday, February 22, 1997 - vs. Manchester City (Away) Wednesday, February 26, 1997 - vs. Birmingham City (Home) Saturday, March 1, 1997 - vs. Charlton Athletic (Home) Tuesday, March 4, 1997 - vs. Barnsley (Away) Saturday, March 8, 1997 - vs. Bolton Wanderers (Away) Saturday, March 15, 1997 - vs. Stoke City (Home) Saturday, March 22, 1997 - vs. Port Vale (Away) Saturday, March 29, 1997 - vs. Norwich City (Home) Monday, March 31, 1997 - vs. Oldham Athletic (Away) Saturday, April 5, 1997 - vs. Southend United (Home) Saturday, April 12, 1997 - vs. Ipswich Town (Home) Saturday, April 19, 1997 - vs. Oxford United (Away) Saturday, April 26, 1997 - vs. Crystal Palace (Home) Sunday, May 4, 1997 - vs. Huddersfield Town (Away)