Monday, August 29, 1988 - vs. Barnsley (Away) Saturday, September 3, 1988 - vs. West Bromwich Albion (Away) Sunday, September 11, 1988 - vs. Portsmouth (Home) Saturday, September 17, 1988 - vs. Blackburn Rovers (Away) Tuesday, September 20, 1988 - vs. AFC Bournemouth (Home) Saturday, September 24, 1988 - vs. Brighton and Hove Albion (Home) Tuesday, September 27, 1988 - vs. Crystal Palace (Home) Saturday, October 1, 1988 - vs. Watford (Away) Wednesday, October 5, 1988 - vs. Oxford United (Away) Sunday, October 9, 1988 - vs. Chelsea (Home) Wednesday, October 12, 1988 - vs. Crystal Palace (Away) Sunday, October 16, 1988 - vs. Leeds United (Home) Saturday, October 22, 1988 - vs. Sunderland (Away) Wednesday, October 26, 1988 - vs. Leicester City (Away) Saturday, October 29, 1988 - vs. Birmingham City (Home) Saturday, November 5, 1988 - vs. Hull City (Away) Wednesday, November 9, 1988 - vs. Norwich City (Away) Saturday, November 12, 1988 - vs. Ipswich Town (Home) Saturday, November 19, 1988 - vs. Stoke City (Away) Saturday, November 26, 1988 - vs. Walsall (Home) Saturday, December 3, 1988 - vs. Shrewsbury Town (Away) Saturday, December 10, 1988 - vs. Oldham Athletic (Home) Saturday, December 17, 1988 - vs. Bradford City (Away) Monday, December 26, 1988 - vs. Plymouth Argyle (Home) Saturday, December 31, 1988 - vs. Manchester City (Home) Monday, January 2, 1989 - vs. Portsmouth (Away) Saturday, January 7, 1989 - vs. Portsmouth (Away) Tuesday, January 10, 1989 - vs. Portsmouth (Home) Saturday, January 14, 1989 - vs. Barnsley (Home) Saturday, January 21, 1989 - vs. Crystal Palace (Away) Saturday, January 28, 1989 - vs. West Ham United (Home) Wednesday, February 1, 1989 - vs. West Ham United (Away) Sunday, February 5, 1989 - vs. Oxford United (Home) Saturday, February 11, 1989 - vs. Chelsea (Away) Saturday, February 18, 1989 - vs. Sunderland (Home) Saturday, February 25, 1989 - vs. Leeds United (Away) Tuesday, February 28, 1989 - vs. Leicester City (Home) Saturday, March 4, 1989 - vs. Ipswich Town (Away) Saturday, March 11, 1989 - vs. Hull City (Home) Saturday, March 18, 1989 - vs. AFC Bournemouth (Away) Saturday, March 25, 1989 - vs. West Bromwich Albion (Home) Monday, March 27, 1989 - vs. Plymouth Argyle (Away) Saturday, April 1, 1989 - vs. Blackburn Rovers (Home) Tuesday, April 4, 1989 - vs. Bradford City (Home) Saturday, April 8, 1989 - vs. Manchester City (Away) Saturday, April 15, 1989 - vs. Watford (Home) Tuesday, April 18, 1989 - vs. Birmingham City (Away) Saturday, April 22, 1989 - vs. Brighton and Hove Albion (Away) Tuesday, April 25, 1989 - vs. Crystal Palace (Home) Saturday, April 29, 1989 - vs. Walsall (Away) Monday, May 1, 1989 - vs. Shrewsbury Town (Home) Saturday, May 6, 1989 - vs. Stoke City (Home) Saturday, May 13, 1989 - vs. Oldham Athletic (Away) Sunday, May 21, 1989 - vs. Crystal Palace (Home) Wednesday, May 24, 1989 - vs. Crystal Palace (Away)