Saturday, August 12, 1978 - vs. Portsmouth (Away) Tuesday, August 15, 1978 - vs. Portsmouth (Home) Saturday, August 19, 1978 - vs. Bury (Home) Monday, August 21, 1978 - vs. Tranmere Rovers (Away) Saturday, August 26, 1978 - vs. Shrewsbury Town (Away) Wednesday, August 30, 1978 - vs. West Ham United (Away) Saturday, September 2, 1978 - vs. Mansfield Town (Home) Saturday, September 9, 1978 - vs. Walsall (Away) Tuesday, September 12, 1978 - vs. Brentford (Home) Saturday, September 16, 1978 - vs. Plymouth Argyle (Away) Saturday, September 23, 1978 - vs. Blackpool (Home) Wednesday, September 27, 1978 - vs. Chester (Away) Saturday, September 30, 1978 - vs. Sheffield Wednesday (Home) Tuesday, October 3, 1978 - vs. Peterborough United (Away) Friday, October 6, 1978 - vs. Colchester United (Away) Tuesday, October 10, 1978 - vs. Peterborough United (Home) Saturday, October 14, 1978 - vs. Rotherham United (Home) Tuesday, October 17, 1978 - vs. Peterborough United (Home) Saturday, October 21, 1978 - vs. Lincoln City (Away) Saturday, October 28, 1978 - vs. Carlisle United (Away) Saturday, November 4, 1978 - vs. Southend United (Home) Saturday, November 11, 1978 - vs. Mansfield Town (Away) Saturday, November 18, 1978 - vs. Shrewsbury Town (Home) Saturday, November 25, 1978 - vs. March Town United (Home) Saturday, December 9, 1978 - vs. Hull City (Home) Saturday, December 16, 1978 - vs. Enfield (Home) Tuesday, December 26, 1978 - vs. Swansea City (Away) Saturday, December 30, 1978 - vs. Watford (Away) Tuesday, January 9, 1979 - vs. Cardiff City (Home) Tuesday, January 16, 1979 - vs. Walsall (Home) Saturday, January 20, 1979 - vs. Plymouth Argyle (Home) Tuesday, January 30, 1979 - vs. Aldershot (Away) Saturday, February 3, 1979 - vs. Chester (Home) Saturday, February 24, 1979 - vs. Rotherham United (Away) Wednesday, February 28, 1979 - vs. Chesterfield (Away) Saturday, March 3, 1979 - vs. Lincoln City (Home) Saturday, March 10, 1979 - vs. Carlisle United (Home) Friday, March 16, 1979 - vs. Southend United (Away) Tuesday, March 20, 1979 - vs. Colchester United (Home) Saturday, March 24, 1979 - vs. Tranmere Rovers (Home) Tuesday, March 27, 1979 - vs. Bury (Away) Saturday, March 31, 1979 - vs. Gillingham (Away) Tuesday, April 3, 1979 - vs. Exeter City (Home) Saturday, April 7, 1979 - vs. Chesterfield (Home) Wednesday, April 11, 1979 - vs. Exeter City (Away) Saturday, April 14, 1979 - vs. Swansea City (Home) Monday, April 16, 1979 - vs. Oxford United (Away) Saturday, April 21, 1979 - vs. Watford (Home) Tuesday, April 24, 1979 - vs. Peterborough United (Away) Saturday, April 28, 1979 - vs. Hull City (Away) Wednesday, May 2, 1979 - vs. Oxford United (Home) Saturday, May 5, 1979 - vs. Gillingham (Home) Tuesday, May 8, 1979 - vs. Brentford (Away) Friday, May 11, 1979 - vs. Sheffield Wednesday (Away) Tuesday, May 15, 1979 - vs. Blackpool (Away)