Saturday, August 13, 1977 - vs. Swansea City (Away) Tuesday, August 16, 1977 - vs. Swansea City (Home) Saturday, August 20, 1977 - vs. Sheffield Wednesday (Away) Tuesday, August 23, 1977 - vs. Peterborough United (Home) Saturday, August 27, 1977 - vs. Portsmouth (Home) Tuesday, August 30, 1977 - vs. Cardiff City (Home) Saturday, September 3, 1977 - vs. Walsall (Away) Saturday, September 10, 1977 - vs. Chesterfield (Home) Tuesday, September 13, 1977 - vs. Preston North End (Away) Friday, September 16, 1977 - vs. Bury (Home) Saturday, September 24, 1977 - vs. Wrexham (Away) Tuesday, September 27, 1977 - vs. Cambridge United (Away) Friday, September 30, 1977 - vs. Shrewsbury Town (Home) Tuesday, October 4, 1977 - vs. Bradford City (Home) Saturday, October 8, 1977 - vs. Lincoln City (Away) Saturday, October 15, 1977 - vs. Port Vale (Home) Saturday, October 22, 1977 - vs. Chester (Away) Tuesday, October 25, 1977 - vs. Portsmouth (Away) Saturday, October 29, 1977 - vs. Exeter City (Home) Tuesday, November 1, 1977 - vs. Portsmouth (Home) Saturday, November 5, 1977 - vs. Gillingham (Home) Friday, November 11, 1977 - vs. Colchester United (Away) Saturday, November 19, 1977 - vs. Rotherham United (Home) Saturday, November 26, 1977 - vs. Boreham Wood (Away) Tuesday, November 29, 1977 - vs. Boreham Wood (Home) Saturday, December 3, 1977 - vs. Hereford United (Away) Wednesday, December 7, 1977 - vs. Wrexham (Away) Saturday, December 10, 1977 - vs. Carlisle United (Home) Saturday, December 17, 1977 - vs. Brentford (Home) Monday, December 26, 1977 - vs. Oxford United (Away) Tuesday, December 27, 1977 - vs. Plymouth Argyle (Home) Saturday, December 31, 1977 - vs. Gillingham (Away) Monday, January 2, 1978 - vs. Tranmere Rovers (Home) Saturday, January 7, 1978 - vs. Nottingham Forest (Away) Saturday, January 14, 1978 - vs. Sheffield Wednesday (Home) Friday, January 20, 1978 - vs. Portsmouth (Away) Saturday, February 25, 1978 - vs. Shrewsbury Town (Away) Tuesday, February 28, 1978 - vs. Bury (Away) Saturday, March 4, 1978 - vs. Lincoln City (Home) Tuesday, March 7, 1978 - vs. Preston North End (Home) Saturday, March 11, 1978 - vs. Port Vale (Away) Tuesday, March 14, 1978 - vs. Wrexham (Home) Friday, March 17, 1978 - vs. Chester (Home) Wednesday, March 22, 1978 - vs. Exeter City (Away) Saturday, March 25, 1978 - vs. Plymouth Argyle (Away) Monday, March 27, 1978 - vs. Oxford United (Home) Friday, March 31, 1978 - vs. Tranmere Rovers (Away) Tuesday, April 4, 1978 - vs. Cambridge United (Home) Saturday, April 8, 1978 - vs. Colchester United (Home) Tuesday, April 11, 1978 - vs. Walsall (Home) Saturday, April 15, 1978 - vs. Rotherham United (Away) Tuesday, April 18, 1978 - vs. Peterborough United (Away) Saturday, April 22, 1978 - vs. Hereford United (Home) Wednesday, April 26, 1978 - vs. Bradford City (Away) Saturday, April 29, 1978 - vs. Carlisle United (Away) Wednesday, May 3, 1978 - vs. Chesterfield (Away)